Making a Besom

A very good article i will reblog to the COC and the BSSS blogs. I make my own besoms as instructed by my late teacher. Our besom is shoulder (though some go head high), the bark left on if oak like mine or stripped for other trees. The end is carved phallic and of course that is the end you hide with the broom part. My elder HPS lays her across the doorway for clients for readings Have to walk over, which stops negativity from entering or blocks them completely. A besom hung horizontally over the door does the same like a Damocles sword. Of course the stang is the Y shaped yoni female version of the besom. My teacher also taught me to point the bottom end as originally they were used as walking sticks and weapons going to Sabat at night in the woods to protect again wild dogs and other animals, like people. Some of the older besoms from our covenstead, which were left behind the altar when a witch had passed to remember and honour them, were of river birch or beech with a thin bark and they had carved into them in Theban or English the Coven of the Catta and their witch name. I have two of these and Lady Alsace has another one. I also have one Dutch Jeff cut from Doc Santee’s rowan he had planted between his house / doctor’s office and the bookhouse / library / covenstead with temple in the back. That tree is now gone and the bookhouse being tossed into a dumster so i am glad to have recovered some objects with permission of the present owner who is “scared of that witch stuff”. I told him to read my book. I know i ramble on here, and have posts on the besom at my blogs, but i also try not to kill a tree but cut a branch or Y piece, and leave offers of coppers and often some of my blood when hand hacking it with my bolline or a tool the bolline’s energy is transferred to like a bigger saw, but not a chain saw, LOL. We also cut them Beltane to Lammas when the sap is up then let them dry all summer then have them ready for All Hallows. Blessings on yr new besom!

Pilgrim's Way

IMG_4913Witchcraft isn’t something one does, it’s something one is…Magic becomes such an integral part of one’s life; it effortlessly and seamlessly weaves into the everyday and pretty soon the boundary between sacred and mundane vanishes (a good indication that you’re doing something right!). If we look to our forebears for guidance we quickly see that an everyday functional form of magic was pretty much the form! Sure there were grimoires, the common assumption that most old time Witches were illiterate has been widely discredited and I’m sure more fancy magic was occasionally employed. For the most part however you made do with what was at your fingertips, flamboyant tools weren’t affordable and quite frankly I doubt that they got anywhere near as sentimentally attached to ‘stuff’ as we might today. Our ancestors were indeed practical but they were also cautious and ‘every day’ objects were a good means to hide…

View original post 969 more words

